Bosses in Dark Souls 3 are powerful foes which constitute some of the most challenging experiences in the game. Most are defeated as part of the mandatory story progression, with the rest optional. Defeating a boss earns the player souls, restoration of Ember and unique Boss Souls which can be transformed into powerful Weapons, Spells, or Items via Soul Transposition from Ludleth of Courland in Firelink Shrine.

Fog Gate, found in front of every bossfight;

 Soul Transposition may be either completely free (most early bosses), or they may cost you a few souls; each transposition has a different cost assignet to it.

 Certain bosses feature special NPCs available as summons for the fight, with some of these summoning instances dependent on meeting certain progression conditions.

 In total there are 19) bosses in the standard game, with 6 of them being optional.

 There are 6 bosses in the DLC parts of the game, with 2 of them being optional.


Early-Game bosses consist of all bosses before the first Lord Of Cinder, the Abyss Watchers.

There's a total of 5 bosses before The Abyss Watchers.

Boss List


Mid-Game bosses consist of 4 from 5 Lords of Cinder, starting from The Abyss Watchers and ending by killing Aldrich, Devourer of Gods.

There's a total of 6 bosses in this section.

Boss List


Late-Game bosses start from Dancer Of The Boreal Valley and end by killing Lord Of Cinder, final boss of the game.

There's a total of 8 bosses in this section.

Boss List

DLC Bosses

These bosses are found in the Painted World Of Ariandel and The Ringed City DLCs.

There's a total of 6 bosses in this section.

Boss List